Genius Gluten Free Chicken & Gravy Pies

genius-logoI first saw the Genius Chicken & Gravy Pies advertised a while ago, but it’s only been in the past few months that my local ASDA has had them in stock in their frozen Free From section.

At the same time as buying these I also bought some of the Genius puff and shortcrust pastries, but I haven’t had the opportunity to try these yet. However, if these pies are anything to go by, the pastry will be great!

DSC03590

The pies take just 25-30 minutes to cook from frozen and that cooking time was spot on. If you’re a regular reader of my blog you’ll be aware that I’ve previously had issues with regard to the cooking time for some products, but this was very straightforward and more importantly, correct!

It’s fair to say that I’m very much in love with these pies. As well as being a great size compared to other pies available, they really taste amazing! The shortcrust pastry is perfect and doesn’t fall apart during cooking unlike some other brands. In addition, the filling is great with lovely chunks of succulent chicken mixed with a generous helping of gravy.

On the day I had my pie I was feeling a little lazy and only have broccoli in the fridge so that’s all I had with mine, but I didn’t feel that it needed anything else with it, as the pie had enough flavour and moisture all on its own.

DSC03594

I’m very impressed with the products coming out of Genius Gluten Free at the moment (some of which I still need to post reviews for), but all I can say is keep them coming! I for one am certainly very impressed! 🙂

To find out more about Genius and their gluten free products you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter and like them on Facebook!

Have you tried a Genius Chicken & Gravy Pie? What did you think? Would you like to see more flavours? Please leave your comments below! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Genius Gluten Free Chicken & Gravy Pies

  1. I tried these and found them incredibly disappointing. While I agree the pastry is good and the filling delicious, there is nearly no filling in the darn things. Such a shame. Glad you liked them though.

    • I feel the need to update this comment. I contacted Genius, who were very nice, they told me that they were switching the factory where the pies are made. Although you do occasionally get the odd one that is mostly gravy you do get much more filling these days.

Leave a comment