La Grotta, Bristol – gluten free pizzas!

la grotta

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you will be aware of my slight addiction to La Grotta, an Italian restaurant in Bristol city centre.

We went there for one of our Bristol Coeliac group meals last year, but I’ve been numerous times since then for lunch and also insisted that it’s where we went for my birthday work lunch last month. Basically I love it there!

When we went for the group meal (the full review can be found here if you’re interested!), La Grotta were in the process of producing gluten free pizzas, but they weren’t yet available, so we indulged in their amazing pasta dishes instead.

But things have changed, they now have their gluten free pizzas and they are incredible! 🙂

In fairness every time I’ve been I’ve had exactly the same pizza, but it’s just too good! I have their Americano pizza which is ham, pineapple and mozzarella, so probably not what you would expect from a normal Americano pizza. I would certainly have anticipated this being called a Hawaiian pizza, but all the ingredients are labelled so you shouldn’t go wrong!

Out of all of the times I’ve had this pizza, I’ve only got one picture of it as I’ve always been too quick to get stuck in, and even in this one you can see that I already started to slice it! Oops!

DSC_2972

The base on these pizzas is so thin and crispy that it tastes so authentic and just like a ‘normal’ pizza, but a really amazing ‘normal’ pizza!

The topping is also outstanding, with a good amount of sauce to not make the base soggy (certainly something I for one can’t replicate at home!) and it’s absolutely full of flavour, even with only a few ingredients.

If you’re in the Bristol area I really recommend that you pay La Grotta a visit. I tend to go in over a lunch time and they always have an offer on where you can buy a main meal (pizza or pasta) for £6.50 as long as you also buy a drink.

Please be aware though that there is an additional cost of £2 for the gluten free pizzas or pasta dishes on the Lunch Specials menu, but they are more than worth the additional cost.

Also, since my last review, they have updated their website to include their full gluten free menu, so here’s a look at it to whet your appetite.

Menu page 1Menu page 2

If you’d like to find out more about La Grotta you can visit their website or like them on Facebook.

Have you visited La Grotta? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you, so please leave your comments below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

