The Pastry Room

logo_lg_grey

Unfortunately this is another long overdue review due to numerous time constraints, but I wanted to let you know about my experience of a product from a company called The Pastry Room.

The Pastry Room produce their own frozen gluten free pastry, but not the kind that you can buy in the supermarkets. They cater for both professionals and homebakers through the production of their frozen pastry mixes, which allow you to use as much or as little as you like.

I was very kindly sent two of their mixes to sample (their gluten free pie pastry and their gluten free scone mix).

Before I get on to the review, here’s a little bit more about the brand, taken from their website:

Colin is a Pastry Chef, and has been for 30 years, dedicated to crafting the finest bakery products using the best ingredients he can source.

A few years ago he devised a unique (now patented) method of making a superfine, frozen mix that allowed him to prepare pastry to his exacting standards every time, with ease and no waste. He joined forces with John and they founded The Pastry Room, selling delicious pastry and scones that are now enjoyed by thousands.

However it was clear through family, friends and customers that if you wanted or needed to follow a gluten free diet you had to compromise hugely on what you could eat, particularly when eating out.

Colin locked himself away for months to see what he could do using the best blends of wheat free flours and The Pastry Room’s unique approach. 

The results are absolutely outstanding but don’t just take our word for it, try for yourself.

The first thing to note about the samples I received was that they were huge (2kg resealable bags to be precise)! This posed something of a problem when you only have a small freezer….

Unfortunately it posed so much of a problem that I was unable to sample the pie pastry mix as I literally had no space to store it for any longer, particularly with our recent house move. 😦

That said, I was not going to be able to part with the scone mix as I am always particularly fond of a scone and in particular a cream tea (done the Cornish way of course)!DSC_2452

Each pastry mix comes with a set of instructions on the back and you won’t believe how easy they are to follow….

1) Pour mix into bowl

2) Add milk and eggs

  1. 3) Roll out, cut and bake

Yes, it really was that easy (of course more specific instructions are also provided) and the fact that you don’t need to defrost the mix first makes it even more convenient.

I made a selection of plain scones when I tested these out, but of course you can adapt the recipe to whatever you’d prefer, so fruity or indeed savoury scones can also be made using this mix, making it very versatile.

As you can see the scones certainly gain a lot of height whilst in the oven, which makes them great for halving and adding some jam and clotted cream!

DSC_2460

The scones were very sturdy and far less crumbly than I was expecting, but that said they seemed to leave a grainy taste in my mouth. I would put this down to poor mixing on my part more than anything else, as I don’t tend to have much strength when it comes to mixing ingredients (I should have used the food processor)!

I don’t bake half as much as I used to, but a mix like this certainly makes baking a lot quicker and easier. That said, I must draw your attention to the costs involved in buying these mixes….

Each resealable 2kg bag costs from £13.49, but you need to buy a minimum of two bags to proceed through the checkout process on their website. When you add the cost of delivery you’re looking at in excess of £35 for two bags which unfortunately is just too expensive for me.

I think this is a great shame as the product itself is very good and very convenient, but it’s just not cost effective in my opinion.

To find out more about The Pastry Room you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter or like them on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

