Not A Trace Awards 2015

Better late than never, welcome to my summary of the products and brands that caught my eye last year.

Unfortunately my blogging has once again had to take a back seat due to various commitments and the small matter of a wedding, but I’m very grateful to all of my readers that have stayed with me!

In the first year of my awards the blog had passed 9,000 views and last year it had reached 28,000, but I’m delighted that it’s now passed 46,000 views, even with limited blogging, so thank you very much! 🙂

So, let’s kick off the awards…..

You will notice that the categories once again slightly differ to last year due to the types of reviews I’ve carried out, but they’re all worthy winners in my opinion.

Best Handmade Cakes

logoI’m going to kick this one off with one of the most important cakes you can have in your life, your wedding cake! Although I shopped around for quotes, then was really only one company that I trusted to make such an important cake, The Wheat Free Kitchen.

I’ve reviewed the brand previously on the blog and enjoyed every item (especially their pasties and yes I did consider a pasty cake!), but the final outcome surpassed all my expectations. Thanks ladies!1

You can read my full review here.

To find out more about The Wheat Free Kitchen you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

Best Own Brand Supermarket

m and s-2For the third year running there is no change in this category, Marks & Spencer wins again. You can read my previous reviews of their chicken breast fillets and cod fillets here, but since then their gluten free range has expanded further and if I fancy a treat, I’ll always head to M&S.

You can find out more about their ranges on their website or you can follow them on Twitter.

Best Restaurant

I’m going to have to select joint winners for this category this year. One is a restaurant that is now our ‘go to’ place for a Sunday lunch and the other excelled themselves when we visited with the Bristol Coeliac Group, so much so that we’re off there again this week!

swan-logoThe first winner is The Swan at Nibley, South Gloucestershire. This restaurant / pub has become a firm favourite for us and it’s also the place we take visiting friends, as we know that not only will I be able to eat safely, but everyone else will thoroughly enjoy their meals and massive portions! You can read my full review here.

If you’d like to find out more about The Swan at Nibley you can visit their website, following them on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

la grottaThe second winner is La Grotta which can be found on Union Street in Bristol. We visited last May (I can’t believe it was that long ago!) with the Bristol Coeliac Group and it was the most talked about outing of the year. They could not do enough for us and their variety of gluten free food was outstanding, including their much loved desserts! You can read my full review here.

Since that visit they’ve now introduced gluten free pizzas and having had one a couple of weeks ago, I suggested a return visit for the group and that’s where we’re heading on Thursday, so expect another blog post on that shortly!

If you’d like to find out more about La Grotta you can visit their website or like them on Facebook.

Best Savoury Pies

logo-1The introduction of No.G pies and quiches was an absolute revelation for me last year. Their range continues to grow, but my favourites still have to be the Chicken and Leek pie as well as their Quiche Lorraine! You can read my full review here.

My only concern with the brand is that it’s not stocked widely enough, but already this year they’ve announced that they’re now stocked in Morrisons so hopefully this growth will continue.

If you’d like to find out more about the NO.G range you can check out their website, follow them on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

Best Stocked Supermarket

Sainsburys and ASDA have both been past winners of this category, but I have to say that I’ve been impressed with the increased stock in all supermarkets over the past year, so I wouldn’t want to single anyone out. I just hope this continues for 2016!

Best Takeaway Option

leon-naturally-logoThere can only be one winner of this category for me this year and that’s LEON. Whenever I’m in either London or Birmingham for work, my ‘go to’ place for lunch is LEON every time and so far it’s been the Moroccan Meatballs every time too! I’m off there this Thursday and I cannot wait!

Special credit must also be given to their very clear allergy labelling. You can read my full review here.

If you’d like to find out more about Leon you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter or like them on Facebook.

Best Pastry

product--pastry-blockThe final revelation of 2015 for me was Silly Yak pastry and the ability to make my own gluten free pasties! The ease at which you can make pastry dishes using this ready to roll pastry is amazing, but I do have concerns about it’s availability as I can never find it anywhere! Fingers crossed that this improves for 2016 as it would make home cooking much easier. You can read my full review here.

If you’d like to find out more about Silly Yak you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter and like their Facebook page.

So there we have it, that’s my round-up of my third year as a coeliac. Congratulations to all of the winners!! 🙂

I’d love to hear from you if you agree or disagree with any of my selections – please leave a comment below.

In the meantime, thanks for continuing to share my coeliac journey with me and here’s to an eventful 2016!!

Leave a Reply

