Bristol Coeliac Group – Meet No. 7

Due to the Summer holidays and a bit of wedding planning on my part, the Bristol Coeliac Group took a bit of a break before gathering again for its September meet up.

We’re realising that there are still a lot of gluten free friendly restaurants in Bristol that we need to work our way through but this time we opted for The Cowshed Bristol which can be found on Whiteladies Road.

I’d been there once and that was for my work Christmas meal last year, so I knew that their food was great, but most of the rest of the group hadn’t eaten there before so I looked forward to their reactions!

If you’ve not come across The Cowshed before, here’s a bit more about them:

Our ethos is simple; to serve good, British food with an emphasis on quality, locally sourced produce, in a relaxed and comfortable environment.

The Cowshed was opened in 2009 by Adam Denton, who sought to create a restaurant in his hometown of Bristol that offered to combine an informal setting with an emphasis on quality, local produce.

An idea that clearly resonated with others in the South West, 2013 saw the expansion of the original Whiteladies road restaurant into the neighbouring former Picture house, with the opening of The Cowshed Bath in 2014 offering the same experience in a new setting.

From the outset, the idea of “simple things, done well” has been used throughout the restaurants, both in creating the menus and in renovating the character-rich buildings to create a welcoming and relaxing dining experience for small, intimate groups of family and friends.

logo

From the outside the venue doesn’t look that big but it is quite deceptive. The interior is actually quite widespread with an open kitchen area so that you can see what’s going on behind the scenes!

We were seated up on the mezzanine level of the restaurant which was a nice platform to see others arriving, but also surprisingly light in the evening due to the well positioned sky light!

As with any restaurant that I visit, I contacted The Cowshed beforehand and explained that the group were mostly coeliacs and on our arrival we’d found that they’d produced a separate gluten free menu for us. That’s always great to see and provides that little bit of reassurance too!

I’d already perused the menu before arriving so I had a rough idea of what I wanted, but it is pleasing that there is quite an array of gluten free options on the menu, all clearly marked accordingly.

In the end I opted for the Texel Lamb Rack & Slow Cooked Breast, which came with courgette, wilted gem and parmesan risotto, Wye Valley asparagus and black olives (although mine didn’t come with the latter!).

DSC_1578

My meal was absolutely amazing! My tastes seem to have changed a lot recently and aside from lamb being my favourite meat, this is probably not a dish I’d have chosen previously, but I’m so glad I did!

Every component was perfectly cooked and the risotto and asparagus complemented the lamb perfectly. This was a definite 10/10 meal!

After the main course it was fair to say that I was suitably stuffed, or so I thought! Not one that can easily resist a dessert I was intrigued by the idea of the Lemon Eton Mess. It was definitely worth it! 🙂

DSC_1579

This was a gorgeously refreshing dessert that I didn’t want to end! Anything with meringue is always going to win me over, but the ‘lemon four ways’ was amazing, which was interesting for me as I don’t normally tend to gravitate towards lemon desserts.

Each different part of the dessert felt like a dessert in its own right, but the curd was just out of this world!

In summary, a brilliant meal at an excellent venue with lovely friends!

If you’d like to find out more about The Cowshed you can visit their websiteor like them on Facebook.

Unfortunately I’m not able to make the next coeliac group outing which is taking place this evening, but if you’d like to join us at any of our upcoming meals please head over to Facebook for more info!

Have you eaten at The Cowshed before? Did you enjoy it? I’d love to hear your thoughts, so please leave a comment below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

