Silly Yak Ready to Roll Pastry Block

product--pastry-blockIt’s always great to see new gluten free products on the market and I was delighted when new brand Silly Yak contacted me and offered me the chance to try some samples of their new Ready to Roll Pastry Block.

Since my diagnosis I haven’t really attempted to make my own pastry, but from what I’d seen it certainly didn’t seem to be an easy thing to do. My Mum is one of the few who seems to have sussed it and she regularly makes a gluten free quiche when I go home, but I wasn’t feeling the urge to try it myself. Fingers crossed this product would change all that!

If you don’t know much about the brand, here’s some more information for you, taken from their website:

When Lucy, the wife of a talented young baker named Tom, was diagnosed with Coeliacs, Tom couldn’t bear for her to miss out on all of her favourite baked goodies. With passion in his heart and a rumble in his tummy, Tom created a selection of truly scrumptious gluten and wheat-free treats that he and Lucy both loved. Now you can love them too with this delicious range of delights from the Silly Yak.

The product is described as ‘scrumptious all-purpose pastry, great for both sweet and savoury recipes’, but it wasn’t a particularly difficult decision when deciding what I was going to make with the two samples I’d been sent. I thought it was only right to try my Mum’s quiche recipe, but of course, I was also going to attempt to make some pasties, and they were first up! 🙂

Being Cornish, I very much love pasties, so this was always going to happen, but would they be as good as I remember?

One evening last month I headed out and bought all of my ingredients and went full throttle into all things pastry, making a complete mess of my kitchen in the process! Oh well!

DSC_0820

First of all I prepped all of my filling (which just means dicing it all!) and then I set to work with the pastry.

I have to admit that I think I got a bit heavy-handed with the first batch and overworked it unnecessarily resulting it in being far less pliable than it should have been. This  meant that the pasties needed a bit of TLC and some pastry plasters to cover the holes!

DSC_0822

I added some egg glaze to the top of the pasty before cooking and then cooked them for about 30 – 35 minutes until they were golden brown and piping hot throughout.

DSC_0823

Once out of the oven they looked a lot better than when they went in (even though they still didn’t look anything like pasties) and taste wise they will utterly divine, resulting in a comment from Rich of “you can make these again!”.

More pasty news to follow later….. 🙂

Once the pasties were done and dusted it was time for a quiche. The last time I used my Mum’s bacon, cheese and onion quiche recipe was in my pre-coeliac days when I made one for work. It’s an easy recipe to follow but how would it work with gluten free pastry?

Learning from the previous experience, I didn’t work the second batch of pastry very much at all, simply rolling it to the desired thickness. This resulted in a much more workable pastry with no splits and a product I was absolutely delighted with! 🙂

DSC_0826

Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of the quiche once cut, but it was a very light and airy quiche and the pastry was just the right thickness to hold it all in place without dominating. I found that the outside of the pastry was quite flaky which added a nice texture to the product, and once again this went down a treat!

Fortunately I had some pastry left over from the second batch, so I made another pasty! This one was going to be frozen and be used for my tea when Rich was away on his stag do, so I thought it would be an interesting test to see how well it would freeze.

This pasty turned out much better than the first two due to the lack of overworking and it most certainly looked like a pasty this time.

After a few weeks of waiting, last night was finally pasty time! How would it fair after being frozen?

I’d defrosted it overnight and it only needed about 20 minutes in the oven at 180 degrees for it to be piping hot throughout. It looked and smelt amazing!

DSC_0956

I have to say I think it tasted even better than the first batch (probably due to the lack of effort involved in not having to make it from scratch the same evening!). Once again the pastry held the filling superbly and it tasted just like a ‘real’ pasty. Now I just need to make a lot more of them!!

DSC_0958

I think it’s fair to say that Silly Yak pastry has just made my life considerably easier! This is a great product for all of your pastry needs and tastes just as good even after your final product has been frozen (please note that you can’t freeze the pastry block itself, as this can only be used from fresh).

The only concern I have about this product is the availability. I was very lucky to be sent some samples, as I’ve not seen it in any of the local supermarkets near me. This is something that I think needs to be looked into, as this product definitely needs to be stocked in as many places as possible, as it gets a big thumbs up from me!

If you’d like to find out more about Silly Yak you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter and like their Facebook page.

Have you tried the Silly Yak pastry? What did you make? How would you rate the product? I’d love to hear your thoughts, so please leave a comment below! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Silly Yak Ready to Roll Pastry Block

  1. Honestly, I LOVE Silly Yak pastry! I made a pie out of it a few weeks ago and it’s easily the best pastry I’ve tasted. I actually didn’t like it so much when we used it for quiche because it’s quite similar to a puff pastry and I prefer a shortcrust-style pastry for quiches. But it was delicious and honestly, if it weren’t for my eager attempts to lose weight and the fact that’s already going pretty badly, I’d be using Silly Yak every week!

  2. I love silly yak pastry but cannot find it anymore my local two tescos do not stock it any more when i enquired at the large store in High Wycombe I was told they dont sell it as noone was buying it, my other local at Loudwater also do not stock it anymore. Tried Taplow and Bicester tescos too and they did not sell it. Please tell me where can i get more.

    Your
    sincerely

    • Hi Mrs Dunbury!

      We had a slight delay with delivery to Tesco stores 2 weeks ago which threw their ordering system a little! All stores should be restocked from tomorrow onwards!

      I hope this helps

      Best Wishes

      Laurence, Silly Yak

Leave a Reply

