Too Good To Be Gluten Free NO.G range

logo-1A few months ago social media was full of people saying they’d found a new gluten free range in their local supermarkets called NO.G, which produce gluten free pies and quiches. I’m a big fan of quiches, particularly with a salad on a hot day, but I was struggling to find the products that everyone was raving about.

Well panic not, I’ve now found them! 🙂

A couple of weeks ago on a trip to my local ASDA I finally found them, nestled with the glutenous pie and quiche offerings. At that time they were at an introductory price of £2 per product, so it would have been rude not to have given them a go!

Before I get on to my product reviews, here’s a little bit more about the brand, taken from their website:

Adopting a gluten free lifestyle shouldn’t mean that you have to compromise on quality, flavour or choice. Our expert chefs have a real passion for creating great-tasting gluten-free food, where premium ingredients are key.

That’s why we’ve developed a range of delicious gluten-free products, so that you don’t have to miss out. In fact, we are so proud of NO.G that we think you’ll enjoy them even if you’re not gluten intolerant.

The NO.G range is made by one of the country’s most prestigious pastry makers. Riverside Bakery in Nottingham has been a Master Piemaker and Baker since 1931. Since then, we have been making perfect pastry for some of the country’s biggest brands.

We’re constantly searching for ways to improve our range, from traditional British pies and puddings to pizzas, quiches and party food.

Everything is made with the same love, dedication and spirit that our founder, Ken Parr, a local Nottingham lad fresh out of training with his City and Guild’s Baker’s Certificate in hand, started with over 80 years ago.

DSC_0273Cheese and Onion Quiche

I do love a good quiche and the only gluten free one I can really rely on is my Mum’s, so I was intrigued to see how this would taste.

The product description is ‘gluten free shortcrust pastry with onions, extra mature cheddar cheese and emmental cheese, in a free range custard, topped with caramelised onions’. Yum!!

With a cooking time of just 15 minutes from chilled, these are a very quick meal to cook and they taste amazing! The amount of flavour in these quiches is immense and they quite literally melt in your mouth.

As for the pastry, well it was great. It was suitably flaky on the edges once sliced, but strong enough to hold the filling in place, without being too thick.

DSC_0275 DSC_0276

These quiches are a good size to either have on their own as a quick snack or with salad and chips for a main meal. These definitely get a big thumbs up from me!

DSC_0377Chicken and Leek Pie

NO.G pies are instantly recognisable with their logo stamped on the pastry lid and this product is described as ‘gluten free shortcrust pastry filled with chicken, maple cure smoked bacon and leeks in a rich creamy sauce, topped with a gluten free pastry lid. Delicious served hot’.

What more could you want in a pie?!

I’ve seen a lot of talk on social media recently of another gluten free brand that skimps on filling, but you could never say this about this range. This pie was full of the most gorgeous creamy filling and once again the pastry was sublime and of a suitable thickness.

DSC_0380 DSC_0381

I served my pie with sweet potato mash and peas and felt that it didn’t need any gravy as the creaminess of the pie and mash didn’t warrant it.

The other great thing about the pies is that they can be frozen, so you can always have some on hand! 🙂

DSC_0384Quiche Lorraine

Back to the quiches and this time the turn of the good old Quiche Lorraine.

Described as ‘gluten free shortcrust pastry filled with British maple cured smoked bacon, extra mature cheddar cheese & emmental cheese in a free range egg custard’, this quiche certainly lived up to expectations.

Very similar in style to the Cheese and Onion Quiche, the bacon added an extra texture which made this product all the more sublime. However, the best thing about this quiche was the crispy cheese around the edges, wow!! 🙂

DSC_0386 DSC_0387

I’m sure you’ve probably sussed by now that I absolutely love this range!

I currently have an Open Top Vegetable Pie in my freezer that I’ve not yet got round too, but I’ve noticed on their website a whole load of products that I’ve not even seen in my local supermarket. These include mini pies that look great for dinner parties, as well as some sweet treats! I need to get my hands on those!!

If you’d like to find out more about the NO.G range you can check out their website, follow them on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

Have you tried any of this range? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below 🙂

One thought on “Too Good To Be Gluten Free NO.G range

  1. YUM!!!

    I’ve heard of No G before, I have a feeling they were at the Allergy Show a couple of years ago and I *think* they’d been to our food fair a couple of times, but I could be getting them confused. Either way, their supermarket range sounds very good! I’ll have to try that cheese and onion quiche (I’d prefer it if that had crisped cheese at the edges after cooking as well…omg crispy cooked cheese…few things in life smell or taste better!) if I can track it down. I do miss pastry products. Glad you liked them all!

Leave a Reply

