Not A Trace Awards 2014

Slightly later than last year, here are my Not A Trace Awards 2014. These awards provide me with an opportunity to look back over the last year and remind you of my highlights.

Unfortunately my blogging has taken a bit of a back seat over the past year due to work commitments and this year my time will also be restricted due to house moving and wedding planning, but I hope to blog whenever I can to bring you all the best brands, restaurants etc.

This time last year my blog had passed 9,000 views, and I’m extremely delighted to say that my views have now passed 28,000 which is a massive jump, so thank you all so much for continuing to read my blog! 🙂

So, let’s kick off the awards…..

You will notice that some categories are slightly different to last year due to the types of reviews I’ve carried out, but they’re all worthy winners in my opinion.

Best Bread (loaf)

udis logoAlthough my preferred loaf since diagnosis has always been the Genius Triple Seeded Sandwich Bread, there was a new kid on the block this year, the Udi’s Tiger Bloomer.

I’ve only been able to try this product once as it was only stocked in Tesco and this is the furthest supermarket from me, but even on the times I did go I was only able to find it the once. That was a shame as this loaf is amazing! Pre coeliac days tiger bread was always my favourite, and every Saturday I would have a tiger roll with tuna mayo from my local bakery…. It was so nice to be able to get back to something near to this! It definitely needs to be distributed to a wider range of supermarkets though!

To find out more about Udi’s you can visit their website and follow them on Twitter.

Best Crisps

udis logoI haven’t really eaten many varieties of crisps over the past year, but two have stood out for me. Udi’s Ancient Grain crisps stood out as they are my preferred choice for serving with dips. You can read my review here.

plentils_logoThe other amazing brand this year was Plentils and their Dill and Sour Cream flavour lentil crisps.

This unfortunately is another product that I’ve only been able to find once and as such haven’t been able to write a review, but I am determined to find these again as they are, quite simply, amazing (and taste a lot like Squares!)

To find out more about Plentils you can visit their website and follow them on Twitter.

Best Dinner for One

cropped-Logo400x100The past year has been a great one for discovering local brands and one of those was Mill Farm Catering.

They provide numerous one serving ready meals to cater for various intolerances including gluten free. As well as providing main meals they also provide desserts and my favourite has to be their stunning Triple Chocolate Fudge Torte! You can read my full review of their products here.

If you’d like to find out more about Mill Farm Catering you can visit their website or follow them on Twitter.

header_homeI do also have to mention Amy’s Kitchen in this category, as their Mac & Cheese is a firm favourite of mine and I have to make sure I have one in the freezer at all times in case I’m short of time! You can read my review here.

To find out more about Amy’s Kitchen you can visit their website or follow them on Twitter.

Best Handmade Cakes

logoDue to my involvement in trying to set up a local Coeliac UK group I came across Gluten Free Somerset and the lovely Mandy, who is a member of the local Facebook group.

Mandy kindly treated us at our first meet up by bringing along some of her bakes, including Battenburg! Wow! You can read my full review here.

To find out more about Gluten Free Somerset, you can check out Mandy’s website and I’d also suggest checking out her Facebook page.

Best Own Brand Supermarket

m and s-2No change in this category, Marks & Spencer wins again for me. You can read last year’s review of their chicken breast fillets and cod fillets, as you will see from my review here.

You can find out more about their ranges on their website or you can follow them on Twitter.

Best Pasta

DSC04863I was offered some samples of Le Veneziane Tagliatelle courtesy of Lavida Food and I absolutely love it!

It’s great to be able to have tagliatelle with Spaghetti Bolognese. 🙂 You can read my review here.

Le Veneziane also produce amazing gnocchi and this is also available from Lavida Foods. If you’d like to find out more, you can visit Lavida Food’s website or follow them on Twitter.

Best Pasties

logoThe winner of this award will not come as a surprise if you’ve been following my blog. Wheat Free Kitchen are quite frankly, amazing!

They produce a wide range of pastry products and cakes, but their Caramelised Onion, Potato and Cheddar Cheese Pasty is divine! If you’d like to read my full review you can do so here.

To find out more about The Wheat Free Kitchen you can visit their website or follow them on Twitter.

Best Restaurant & Best Gluten Free Supplier

logoCornwall based Trevaskis Farm has to be the winner of both of these categories. I ate at their restaurant a couple of times over the last year and their gluten free awareness is brilliant.

They offer a selection of gluten free options on their menu and I was even able to have a gluten free Panini which was gorgeous.

They also have their own shop on site which as well as providing store cupboards essentials, also includes gluten free sausages and burgers. Brilliant! You can read my full review here.

If you’d like more information about Trevaskis Farm you can visit their website or follow them on Twitter.

Best Savoury Pies

store cupboard logoAnother friend of the local Coeliac Group is The Store Cupboard and the wonderful Maggie.

Her Gluten Free Pork Pies are immense and make her brand the winner of this category! You can read my full review here.

I don’t believe that The Store Cupboard has a website as yet, but if you’d like more information about the brand please let me know and I will pass any comments on to Maggie.

Best Stocked Supermarket

Last year I gave this award to Sainsburys as they seemed to be doing quite well at holding off Tesco, but I have to be honest with this category and say that all the supermarkets are great, you just have to shop around.

I regularly have to go to both Sainsburys and ASDA to get a full shop, but one thing that has gone against Sainsbury’s this year is the production of their veg packs, as they now can’t guarantee that they’re free of gluten during their production!

This now makes ASDA my preferred supermarket due to its proximity, although if there was a Tesco within reach I’m sure that would also get a lot of visits.

Best Takeaway Option

DSC05602-2I haven’t had many positive takeaway experiences this year, but one place I did visit which offers gluten free options, is the brilliant D Fecci & Sons Fish and Chip Shop in Tenby!

I ate in and had my meal there, but they have brilliant coeliac awareness and even include a section on it in their menu! Well worth a look if you’re in the area. You can read my review here.

Special Mention

godolphin-logo@2xThis year’s special mention award goes to The Godolphin Arms in Marazion. My first visit there was a concern, but since then they’ve worked really had to produce a brilliant gluten free menu.

They’ve now also ensured that their staff have a good level of gluten free awareness. I’ve eaten their a couple of times since my first visit and had no issues at all. You can read my review here.

So there we have it, that’s my round-up of my second year as a coeliac. Congratulations to all of the winners!! 🙂

I’d love to hear from you if you agree or disagree with any of my selections – please leave a comment below.

In the meantime, thanks for continuing to share my coeliac journey with me and here’s to an amazing 2015!!

3 thoughts on “Not A Trace Awards 2014

  1. It’s great to read this, especially as there are companies and products I’ve never come across before. And I absolutely agree with Amy’s Kitchen. The fat content of some of their products is scarily high (Vegetable Lasagne, I’m looking at you!), but the flavour is wonderful and they’re incredibly convenient. I used to take a lasagne or a macaroni cheese with me to work some days, and heat it in the microwave for lunch, which made a great change for lunches. Only thing I’d argue with is the Tiger Bloomer (sorry!!!!), but in my experience, bread is, for coeliacs in general, incredibly subjective. Like you, I’ve been a big Genius fan for a long time, an I get their brown sandwich loaf on prescription, but I know it gives a lot of coeliacs some stomach problems. That said, I do love Udi’s and their bagels are SOOO good!!!
    Great blog post and a happy new year to you! :0)

    Vikki Cook
    http://www.buttercupbakerybournemouth.blogspot.co.uk

  2. I see Trevaskis featured as a winner. They ought however need to label desserts in the chiller cabinet. Also they need to ensure that after the waiter takes your gluten free order they ensure that it arrives, minus the Yorkshire pudding, cauliflower cheese and flour thickened gravy. I have been back and had another roast – hat time as requested. Thanks for the blog .Helen Hodder

    • Hi Helen, thanks for your comments. Sorry you’ve had a poor experience, my comments are purely related to my views when I visited, but certainly the desserts were all labelled up clearly, so not sure why they weren’t when you visited. Glad things have improved for your most recent visit.

Leave a Reply

