Lavida Food

logoA few months ago I was approached by a company called Lavida Food and was asked if I’d like to review some of the gluten free products they distribute.

If like me, you haven’t heard of Lavida Food before, here’s a bit more information about them, taken from their website:

Lavida Food is headed by husband and wife team, Mairead & Marek and like many great innovations was borne of their necessity to find and cook gluten free products they could both enjoy. Mairead is a coeliac and Marek an avid cook who despaired at trying to find and cook gluten free products they could both enjoy and which did not compromise their taste buds. After lots of research and hard work, Lavida Food was born!

Lavida’s moto “Taste Well Travelled” summarises the length and efforts they are prepared to travel the world to bring you healthy wholesome products that are not a compromise on your taste buds. Lavida Food believe that when it comes to food, despite allergies your senses should be able to have it all.

I received an amazing selection of goodies from Lavida Food, including Bob’s Red Mill Brownie Mix and a Vanilla Cake Mix, but I was very pleasantly surprised to also receive a pack of Le Veneziane Tagliatelle and a pack of their Potato Gnocchi. 🙂

I’d not heard of Bob’s Red Mill before but they are an American brand which is now available in the UK. Here’s some more information about the brand:

For over 30 years, the Bob’s Red Mill family has been committed to providing the very best in Gluten Free flours, cereals, baking mixes and grains for our friends on Gluten Free diets. So you could say we know a thing or two about what it takes to make a wide variety of the best products available. You see, we thoroughly batch test every Gluten Free product in our quality control laboratory upon delivery, during production and after packaging.

To assure the integrity of all of our Gluten Free products, we adhere to a standard of no more than 19 parts per million of gluten. We’ve even built a separate Gluten Free packaging division complete with specialized machinery to make sure that our products maintain their purity–just as nature intended. By going to these lengths, we’re able to ensure that folks with wheat allergies, celiac disease and gluten intolerance can trust that our products are safe to consume.

Since my diagnosis I haven’t been into baking as much as I used to be, so I was keen to try out the cake mixes and see how easy they would be to make. It turns out that the instructions are very easy to follow!

BDSC04624ob’s Red Mill Vanilla Cake Mix

Unfortunately on receipt of the products from Lavida Food, my vanilla mix had leaked in the box which meant that this needed to be the first product to be reviewed!

Every product from Bob’s Red Mill contains a description of the product and this one is described as ‘made with a perfect blend of gluten free flours and starches, this mix can be easily transformed into your favourite custom cake or cupcake recipes that call for a white cake, or simply bake as directed for a delicate vanilla cake’.

I decided to have a bit of a baking session whilst Rich was away one weekend, so it seemed to be the perfect opportunity to try the vanilla mix and I opted to make it as per the very straightforward instructions, which also include details of the additional ingredients you will need to make the cake.

DSC04625 DSC04627

I found the instructions to be perfect, resulting in the most amazing vanilla sponge! Granted it did slightly burn on the top whilst baking, due to it rising quite high in the middle, but by cutting the top off to make it even it meant that I could try a bit of the plain sponge. It tasted amazing before a filling was even added! 🙂

DSC04642I decided to make a traditional Victoria Sponge out of my mix, so I added some jam and cream and I think it turned out really well.

Rich was certainly happy when he got home from his weekend away to find a freshly baked cake waiting for him!

DSC04643DSC04816Bob’s Red Mill Brownie Mix

I stupidly mentioned my recent baking session to one of my work colleagues and before I knew it I was baking brownies for our next team meeting!

This product is described as ‘a deep and intense dark chocolate flavour combined with a wonderfully moist cake texture makes our Gluten Free Brownie Mix an instant favourite. A must for all chocolate lovers’.

It was a messy bake, but it was certainly worth it!

I slightly tweaked the recipe for this one and added some white chocolate chips and omitted the walnuts, as I very much love white chocolate! I also decided not to add the fudge topping, which I think was a wise move as the brownies were very rich anyway, so I didn’t feel they needed anything extra.

DSC04818 DSC04819

I found that the mixture divided into 15 nicely sized slices of brownie, despite the packet suggesting 10 servings per pack – they’d have been huge!

They certainly went down extremely well at work, and were definitely described as a cross between a brownie and a cake, as they had the hard topping of a brownie but the smoothness of a cake inside.

Basically they were amazing and writing about them and posting the photos is making me wish I had another packet, as I could really eat these again right now! 🙂

DSC04823 DSC04825

If you’d like to find out more about Bob’s Red Mill, you can visit their website or follow them on Twitter.

Le Veneziane Tagliatelle

I’m a big fan of pasta, so I was extremely happy to find some tagliatelle in my little box of goodies from Lavida Food!

If you’ve not come across the Le Veneziane range, here’s a little bit more about the brand taken from their website:

Molino di Ferro introduces Le Veneziane, the gluten free pasta diet, light and easy to digest. Due to the low fat content, Le Veneziane is the ideal solution for those who want to stay healthy and for lovers of Mediterranean cuisine.

DSC04863

Rich regularly makes spaghetti bolognaise and tends to use any type of pasta we have available at the time, but we’ll be using this tagliatelle in the future as it works perfectly and tastes great!

I don’t know about you but we always struggle to get the right portion sizes with our pasta. Struggle no more! Each packet contains 6 each individually portioned balls of tagliatelle, which we’ve decided is the perfect portion size, so we know that two of these will be perfect with our bolognaise.

The tagliatelle takes just 4 – 5 minutes to cook and tastes more delicate with a bolognaise than a penne or fusilli pasta. Unfortunately we didn’t have any parmesan available at the time, so I’d sooner have some grated cheddar than no cheese at all! 🙂

DSC04865This product gets a very big thumbs up from me and will definitely become one of our store cupboard essentials.

DSC04396Le Veneziane Potato Gnocchi

Oh how I love gnocchi! It’s so easy to cook and tastes amazing!

Le Veneziane seem to be all about convenience and they’ve made this product very convenient too.

Each packet contains two individually portioned trays of gnocchi and with a 2 minute cooking time, they couldn’t be easier to cook!

There are so many different recipes which include gnocchi or can be tweaked to use gnocchi as a replacement.

We opted for using it in a vegetable bake which included courgettes, onions and peppers in a tomato sauce, with a cheese topping.

DSC04398 IMG_1551 IMG_1552

It turned out so well that it got an instant mention on Twitter! 🙂

Twitter post

I think it’s safe to say that I loved all of the products kindly sent to me by Lavida Food and I strongly recommend you give them a try! 🙂

If you’d like to find out more about Lavida Food, you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter or like them on Facebook.

Have you tried any of these products or order from Lavida Food? What did you think? I’d love to hear from you, so please leave a comment below! 🙂

One thought on “Lavida Food

  1. Ahh…the pure deliciousness of gnocchi!! I absolutely adore it and it’s actually quite difficult to find, so I may well have to look this company up. The squishy doughy-ness of them…yum! Anyway, I’ve actually never tried anything by Bob’s Red Mill before, so I might see if I can find the brownie mix. I remember being a young teenager (pre-diagnosis, obviously!) and baking Betty Crocker brownies with my sister. I think we ate the lot in 2 days! Haha! Desperate to try making some again, so will look them out. :0)

    Vikki Cook
    http://www.buttercupbakerybournemouth.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

