D Fecci & Sons Fish & Chips, Tenby

DSC05602-2Earlier this week I travelled to Pembrokeshire for work and I asked my Facebook and Twitter followers for suggestions of good gluten free places in the area. I normally eat in my hotel when I’m in Pembroke, but after some disappointing meals I thought I’d see what else was on offer.

A couple of places were recommended by my followers and I did some of my own research too, with one place coming up in a number of different searches, D Fecci & Sons, a fish and chip shop in Tenby.

Ideally I didn’t want to have to travel too far to get my tea, so I decided to stop off in Tenby on my way to Pembroke, just so that I didn’t have to go back out again!

I’ve heard a lot about Tenby, but I’d never visited before. It is a very pretty little town with the most stunning coastline and views and a quaint little high street, which is where I headed to try to find the fish and chip shop.

The shop wasn’t particularly difficult to find as Tenby isn’t one of the largest towns, but it certainly seems to have a lot of fish and chip shops!

I couldn’t see any signs outside the shop to say that they offered gluten free options, so I went in to double-check that I had found the right shop.

Indeed I had! I was offered a vast selection of gluten free options, but I was in the mood for a good old fish and chips, however when gluten free onion rings were thrown into the mix, there was no way that they were going to be turned down! I also ordered some baked beans for dipping purposes (these were Heinz so no problem on the gluten free front!).

DSC05604

They even have coeliac fish and chips itemised on their menu!

This little addition in their menu immediately put my mind at ease about how they ensure that their gluten free products are just that…

DSC05601

My whole meal cost less than £13 which I think it great value for money, but when y meal arrived I certainly felt like I may have over ordered…. (smaller portions of fish are available, but they didn’t have any available on the day I visited).

DSC05605

The fish was absolutely stunning with a nice thin batter, which I always prefer as I find that a thick batter fills you up to much and takes away from the taste of the fish.

There was an extremely large portion of chips, which was too much for me, a smaller portion would have been perfect. I would have preferred the chips to have been a little crispier, but this is all down to personal opinion. To be honest I visited for the fish rather than the chips anyway! 🙂

Now, the big selling point for me was the onion rings, but if I’m honest, I was a little bit disappointed. 😦

DSC05607Firstly they were greasy, so make sure you grab some napkins, but secondly I found them to be very salty. I don’t add additional salt to anything I cook, so when I do have salt I notice it straight away.

The top few onion rings were ok and were extremely flavoursome, and quite frankly amazing, but as I got nearer the bottom of the pile I discovered that they were sitting in lumps of salt, and by this point the onion flavour was being overwhelmed by the salt.

For me, this is something that should be left down to personal choice and if you wish to have salt then you can add some yourself.

DSC05608Overall, I would definitely recommend D Fecci & Sons for their gluten free options and brilliant awareness of gluten free living, but personally I would like to season my own food so that it suits my tastes.

Unfortunately I am unable to find a website, Twitter account or Facebook page for D Fecci & Sons, but if you’d like more information about them, or other reviews, a quick search of Google will find lots of results!

5 thoughts on “D Fecci & Sons Fish & Chips, Tenby

  1. I’m a coeliac from Pembroke, but live in Bristol, and my grandmother’s a coeliac living in Pembroke. I didn’t know that they did gluten free food at D Fecci and Sons! Will definitely be trying it next time I visit! Do you have any othe good gluten free suggestions for Pembroke?

Leave a Reply

