Cau Restaurant, Bristol

logoA couple of weeks ago Rich and I met up with two of our closest friends at CAU Bristol.

The restaurant hasn’t been open for very long, but after checking their gluten free options with them through Twitter, their options seemed great so rather than going to restaurants on the waterfront as we normally do, I thought this restaurant located on Queens Road would be a good choice.

If you’ve not come across CAU before, here’s a little bit more about them, taken from their website:

Many years ago, we fell in love with the vibrancy of Buenos Aires, a city where cosmopolitan sophistication collides with an irresistibly chaotic energy. It’s a beguiling, emotional and all embracing place to be.

When we started CAU, our vision was to capture that spirit in a restaurant that would fit right into the heart of Palermo, Buenos Aires. If we could replicate that vitality, passion and sense of fun, we knew CAU would be a place people would want to spend time.

Our menu embraces Buenos Aires cuisine, a melting pot of comfort food inspired by Italy and Spain alongside the jewel in Argentina’s crown, its beef. Mouthwatering steaks, burgers and steak sandwiches are joined by a tempting selection of more-ish favourites, each with a distinctive Buenos Aires twist.

On our arrival we were given menus to ponder over and I was given a separate menu which had the gluten free meals highlighted on it. It turned out that the partner of the member of front of house staff that greeted us is also a coeliac, and this meant that the restaurant appeared to be clued up on their gluten free meals.

Rich and I got to the restaurant very early so we got some drinks from the rather stylish bar and toasted our engagement, which had only happened a few days earlier whilst we were on holiday! 🙂 I celebrated with a Berry Bellini (Fragoli liqueur and Prosecco).

The restaurant is laid out with the bar directly in front of you as you enter the restaurant, with the open kitchen behind it. There are then booths on the right hand side of the kitchen with tables at the front and a raised seating area on the left hand side. DSC05424 Unfortunately we were a little late getting to our booth as there had been an accident in town which had caused our friends to be delayed, but the staff were very accommodating and appreciated me advising them of the traffic issues, as it appeared a few other parties were also delayed.

The first of our friends (Nick) arrived shortly after, so we sat at the bar a little longer before moving to our booth and it was only a few minutes before Phil arrived.

We’d all been looking at the menu before we arrived at the restaurant so we all had a rough idea of what the options were, but we were too busy catching up to confirm our decisions and had to send the waiter away for a bit longer! Oops!

We finally made our choices and I ordered the Twice Cooked Pork Belly served with sweetcorn puree and chargrilled onions (£13.95) and Rich and I shared some Triple-Cooked Chunky Chips (£2.95). We didn’t have to wait too long for our meals and they were absolutely amazing! DSC05423 The pork in my meal was cook perfectly and the puree and onions complimented it perfectly. My only comment would be that I wish there was more puree, as the sides to pork ratio didn’t seem quite right and therefore the puree was used up quite quickly, meaning that I was left just eating the pork at the end.

The only concerning part of the evening was when it came to dessert. Whilst pondering the menu when we arrived, I was advised that the CAU Cornflake Ice Cream Sundae (minus the chocolate brownie) would be ok, however this included cornflakes which I didn’t think were ok….

I was advised by the member of the front of house team that they were Kellogg’s cornflakes and his partner said that these are ok, however a quick check on Google, confirmed that I wouldn’t be trying this dessert as the Kellogg’s website stated that ‘depending on gluten sensitivity, Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies®, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes®, Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes®, Kellogg’s® Cocoa Krispies®, Crispix®, and Kellogg’s® Corn Pops® might be suitable for persons on a gluten restricted diet’.

Based on this, I chose not to risk it as I’m still unsure about my sensitivity levels, but without this knowledge I’d be concerned that other diners may go ahead and eat this dessert without knowing the possible consequences.

Rich and Nick both had desserts and they looked amazing, particularly Nick’s Baked Vanilla Cheesecake (£5.95)! I don’t normally get dessert envy, but I really wish I could’ve eaten that! 😦 DSC05425 Overall I have to say that CAU is absolutely amazing and I feel that the prices are suitable, when you consider the superb quality of the food provided.

I’m pleased to say that I had no ill effects from the food I ate so it seems that their gluten free food is just that, and they obviously keep their risk of cross contamination to a minimum. However, as mentioned above, I would seek more clarification regarding their desserts. DSC05422-2 If you’d like to find out more about CAU and the locations of their other restaurants, you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

