Dyrham Park, Gloucestershire

logoLast Sunday, Rich and I decided to venture to Dyrham Park which is a national trust site only 20 minutes away from us and somewhere I regularly drive past on my auditing travels.

We’ve visited twice before, once with my parents, and the main appeal for me is always the free roaming deer. The first time we went we saw a few, and when we went with my parents we didn’t see any which was a real shame. On this occasion we saw loads!!

Dyrham Park

As well as walking around the park following a number of different routes, there are also some beautiful gardens, the 17th century mansion, a shop and a tea room.

DSC04788On our first visit I was very excited to see that they were advertising gluten free scones in the tea room, however after waiting in the queue for what seemed like ages, I was told they didn’t have any.

To say I was annoyed was an understatement and I decided we wouldn’t be having anything (one of those act first think later situations…).

On this occasion, after sending Rich to queue whilst I grabbed one of the last remaining tables, I was delighted that the outcome this time was more positive. 🙂

It wasn’t long before I was greeted with a hot DSC04759
chocolate, gluten free scone, Rodda’s Cornish clotted cream (only the best!) and a jar of jam. Heaven!

It was a shame that my scone was considerably smaller than Rich’s ‘normal’ one, but it tasted great and the texture of the scone was wonderful.

Of course my cream tea was compiled in the proper Cornish manner(!) and it was perfect for a Sunday afternoon treat!

It’s been a wait to get to try a Dyrham Park scone, but it was well worth it!

DSC04762-2I don’t visit any other National Trust sites so I’m not sure if they all offer gluten free options, but I’m pleased that Dyrham Park very clearly label their items with allergen information and also have some Mrs Crimbles goodies!

DSC04742

If you’d like to find out more about Dyrham Park, you can visit their website and follow them on Twitter.

Have you visited any National Trust sites lately? Did they have any gluten free products? What did you think? Please leave your comments below!

3 thoughts on “Dyrham Park, Gloucestershire

    • Hey Vikki, yes it was definitely worth the wait! I never seem to have too much of a problem finding gf hot chocolate to be fair and if they’re unsure I always ask for the box rather than go without 🙂

      • Will have to start checking! They often seem to say they have no idea or that no, they don’t think it is and I chicken out of asking if I can check, haha!

Leave a comment