Christine’s Puddings

untitledIf you’re a regular reader of my blog you will know that I recently bought some more products from the amazing Christine of Christine’s Puddings when I saw her at the Coeliac UK Birmingham Group Food Fair.

I’d been meaning to write a review of her products after first trying them at the Bath Food Fair last year, but never got round to it, so I was determined to write one this time!

If you’ve not heard of Christine’s Puddings before, here’s a little bit more about the brand:

Christine’s Puddings was established in 2007 by Christine Willis. Being a Coeliac for nearly 40 years, I knew how hard it was to find good gluten-free proper puddings, so I decided to market the Christmas Pudding that I had been making for my family.

My range now includes several delicious gluten, wheat and dairy free products including great tasting pastry.

“My goal is to make interesting and tasty products that everyone can enjoy… and, by the way – everything is gluten-free!”

Christine’s Puddings… and sweet and savoury tarts are made with free range eggs and unsalted butter. Unless they are dairy free and then they are made with dairy free sunflower alternatives.

DSC04425

At the recent food fair I was spoilt for choice as to what to buy, but in the end I opted for a Leek and Potato Tart, Raspberry Frangipane Tart, Treacle Tart, Sticky Toffee Pudding and Christine also kindly gave me some of her pastry cases to test out with my own fillings.

I haven’t yet tried the sticky toffee pudding (that will be a weekend treat!) or the pastry cases, but here’s my verdict on the other products….

Raspberry Frangipane TartDSC04534

One of my favourite products in Christine’s range has to be her Raspberry Frangipane puds which come in two different sizes. This time I bought the normal size tarts but they also come in mini versions.

The pastry in these tarts is very thin which means there is a lot more space for the scrumptious filling.

Personally I love my cakes to have a nice crispy edge to them and as you can see from the photos, this one certainly had that! It was gorgeous!  DSC04539

The almond flakes created a brilliant additional texture, which worked perfectly when combined with the moist sponge filling as well as the raspberry jam. 🙂

DSC04458Leek and Potato Tart

This was my first time trying the Leek and Potato Tart, as I’ve previously had the Leek and Cheese version, but if that one was anything to go by, then this was going to be lovely.

I’m very pleased to say that it certainly didn’t disappoint!

The filling within this tart is just to my tastes, leek, potato, sweet potato, carrot, cheese and herbs, and they all combined perfectly together.

DSC04462

Again, the pastry was thin enough to hold everything in place, but not too thick to overshadow the filling. This tart definitely gets a thumbs up from me! 🙂

Treacle Tart

The only other product from my purchases that I’ve got round to trying so far is the Treacle Tart. However I have tried this product before and loved it, so that’s why I just had to buy another one at the food fair!

As a fan of all things sweet, this pudding was always going to be a favourite!

 DSC02667DSC02670

The consistency, texture and taste of this tart are just amazing and it would be easy to enjoy it on its own, but for me cream or custard are the only way forward! 🙂

I can’t wait to try the Sticky Toffee Pudding this weekend, it has the potential to be one of my favourite gluten free desserts if these other delights are anything to go by!

If you’d like to find out more about Christine’s Puddings, you can visit the website or follow them on Twitter.

Have you tried any of the Christine’s Puddings range? What did you think? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Please leave a comment below 🙂

One thought on “Christine’s Puddings

  1. I’ve been a huge fan of Christine’s since she started (thank goodness, she’s pretty local to me!). Her frangipane tart is amazing hot and covered with cream. Actually, so is the treacle tart. The best bit is that because they’re dairy free as well, they keep for AGES, so you don’t have to worry about buying loads and then eating it quickly. Now craving a pud!

    Vikki Cook – wwww.buttercupbakerybournemouth.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

