The Wheat Free Kitchen

logoAnother brand I was very excited to see at the recent Love Food Festival in Bristol was The Wheat Free Kitchen. I had no idea they were going to be there until I looked on the website the evening before and saw the list of stallholders. It would be fair to say that I got a little over excited! Not only was there going to be gluten free goodness, but a whole stall of it!

I hadn’t heard of The Wheat Free Kitchen before the festival, and if you haven’t either here’s some information about them taken from their website:

The Wheat Free Kitchen – tasty gluten and wheat free baking is what we do. We know there’s a lack of good quality, good tasting free from products out there. Apart from gluten free, you will also find in The Wheat Free Kitchen, dairy free and vegan based products.

The way we shop has changed, we all need products that are in balance with the way we live our lives – the food we eat should complement our lifestyle – and that’s what we’re here to help with, just because you can’t eat gluten shouldn’t mean that you have to miss out.

After visiting my lovely friend Sarah at Fair & Square Chocolate Brownies I was on a mission to find The Wheat Free Kitchen and walked all around the stalls trying to find them. It turns out they were only 2 stalls aware from Sarah, I was just oblivious!

To say that I was in heaven when I saw the stall would be an understatement and I think my delight was very apparent to sisters Gemma and Beth! 🙂

Here’s some more information about The Wheat Free Kitchen’s sisters:

Gemma is the baker. She grew up baking and spent pretty much every Sunday in the kitchen with her mum experimenting with new recipes. She always has her finger in a few pies (excuse the pun!) has dabbled in sugar craft and dreams of cakes by night.

Beth is the organiser, the accountant and the business hub – she manages all of this whilst looking after three little ones who are excited that their mumtrepreneurs are fulfilling their dreams of a gluten free baking business. She is level headed, organised and the glue to our business. She’s also recently discovered a flair for birthday cake decoration.

I have to add to this that they are also both very lovely, friendly and a good laugh!

As for their food, well there was certainly a lot of choice. Muffins, tarts (savoury and sweet), pasties (yes, you read that right!), quiches, traybakes and shortbreads!

DSC03633To have to choose from this selection was really quite difficult, although the first things I bought were pasties (obviously!).

I decided to buy one Caramelised Onion, Potato and Cheddar Cheese for myself and a Spicy Vegetable one for Rich.

On the cake front I opted for Black Forest and Carrot Cake muffins, some Shortbread, a Chocolate Tart and a Summer Fruit Slice. I felt that was enough to keep me going for a while….! 😉

Quite an array of treats I’m sure you’ll agree, but where to start….

Yes, of course there was only one place to start, as soon as I got home we had pasties for lunch! As quite a lover of pasties (you knew that right?!) I have to say that these are, without a shadow of a doubt, the best gluten free pasties I’ve had!

DSC03638 DSC03640

Not only are the fillings amazing, but the pastry is just astonishing. You would never have known it was gluten free. Other pasties I’ve had have fallen apart during cooking, but these maintained their shape all through cooking and still looked perfect just before being eaten! Amazing!

DSC03641

As The Wheat Free Kitchen don’t sell the traditional pasty flavour I opted for the Caramelised Onion, Potato and Cheddar Cheese version as cheese pasties were always my second favourite pasty. Based on this one, they’re now top! The filling to pastry ratio was just perfect and the texture of the pastry was spot on. Stunning!

As for Rich’s Spicy Vegetable Pasty you could certainly smell the cumin as soon as you cut into the pastry. Rich said that it wasn’t too spicy and he’d describe it as vegetable with a curry flavouring. He also commented that the pastry was sweeter than he would have expected but that this was not a bad thing.

My only negative about the pasties was that I wish they were bigger!

DSC03646 DSC03648

As for The Wheat Free Kitchen’s sweet treats, I started with the Carrot Cake Muffin.

Carrot cake is not normally a flavour that I would have, but in the interest of trying a variety of their products I thought I’d give it a go, and I’m glad I did as I was very impressed! The first comment I’d make is definitely in relation to their size as The Wheat Free Kitchen certainly seem to be generous with their muffin sizes!

DSC03667 DSC03668

Their muffins all have a wonderful texture and are certainly not dry like some gluten free brownies I’ve previously had, in fact it was beautiful and moist and very fresh tasting (if that makes sense?!). The flavour also really shines through and the topping was just divine. I’ll certainly be trying carrot cake again, I just hope future ones are as good!

Next up was the Chocolate Tart. Once again the pastry element was perfect as I’d already come to expect based on the success of the pasties, and it really made this product stand out and look very appealing.

DSC03694 DSC03695

The chocolate centre was quite sweet, but also grainy. It felt as though it had grains of sugar running through it, which I wouldn’t have expected to have noticed as I anticipated a smooth chocolate filling. That said though it was still a very enjoyable product that I would buy again.

The Black Forest Muffin was the next product to be consumed and it was very similar to the Carrot Cake Muffin in terms of moistness, but it had the added bonus of cherry in the middle which created both great texture and flavour.

DSC03718 DSC03721

It should also be noted that the chocolate icing and the white chocolate drops were also a very welcome addition! 🙂

Finally there was the shortbread. I do love shortbread but finding good gluten free versions has proved quite difficult, until now! Crikey this brand is amazing!

DSC03722 DSC03723

This shortbread was crisp and not too dry or crumbly and had the perfect shortbread texture. The chocolate tasted a little cocoay which was a shame, but I could have quite happily have eaten the shortbread without the chocolate so this didn’t bother me too much. I definitely want some more of these in the future!

The best thing about this product was that money raised from the sale of the shortbreads goes to Bristol Children’s Hospital’s Wallace and Gromit’s Grand Appeal, which is a great cause.

You will note that I said that shortbread was the last product reviewed, but the Summer Fruit Slice has yet to be critiqued. Unfortunately due to the sheer quantity of cakes in my house at the time, the slice was left a little longer to consume than I would have liked and as such I didn’t think it would be fair to review it when it wasn’t at its freshest. I’m sure it would have been just as amazing as the other products and it will certainly be at the top of my list the next time I see The Wheat Free Kitchen!

Well, there you have it! What an amazing array of products from The Wheat Free Kitchen. They are definitely up there as one of the best all round gluten free brands in my book, well done!

To find out more about The Wheat Free Kitchen you can visit their website, follow them on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

Have you tried any products from The Wheat Free Kitchen? What did you think? Were you as impressed as me? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

