Udi’s Gluten Free

main-logoIt’s taken a while to get around to writing a review about the Udi’s products now available in the UK, mainly because there’s so many and because I’ve had difficulty getting hold of them in my local Tesco. However, I’m pleased to say that seems to have changed of late now that the distribution of the brand has spread to other supermarkets.

Back in October 2013 I reviewed the Udi’s Gluten Free Plain Bagels (you can read the review here), but since then I’ve become obsessed with a few of their other products….

In case you’ve been on another planet and missed the arrival of Udi’s in the UK, here’s a reminder of their mission statement:

Here at Udi’s, our mission is simple. We want you to taste happiness. And we’ll make it happen by creating the very best gluten free foods on the planet. We’re really proud of what we’ve achieved so far. Over in the US, we’ve built a brand and a community… or, maybe more accurately, the other way round!

Our community comes together online, sharing ideas, tips and stories, and making friends in gluten free. And they’ve shared with us that the flavour and texture of our gluten free foods is so good that the odd fan has been known to cry with joy.

Though you’ll probably be a bit more reserved here in the UK, we really do hope to help you discover a new way to approach gluten free living. Say goodbye to bland, crumbly and tasteless food, say hello to Udi’s.

Cinnamon & Raisin BagelsDSC02626

Following my review of the plain bagels I really wanted to try the Cinnamon & Raisin version as I thought they these would be right up my street.

The product description on Udi’s website is:

Our Cinnamon & Raisin gluten free bagels will surely satisfy breakfast fans everywhere. Raisins with a hint of sweetness complement  the cinnamon and spice perfectly. Start your day with a smile by tucking into these soft, taste-packed gluten free bagels from Udi’s. A classic with a delicious difference.

Although they are indeed lovely bagels, I reviewed some similar ones from local brand Everything Bagels during the middle of last year (you can find the review here), and I must admit that I do prefer the ones from Everything Bagels as I prefer their stronger flavour.

I tried having the Udi’s version for breakfast before travelling for work, but unfortunately they were just too much for me as a breakfast option, as I prefer something a little lighter early in the morning.DSC02630That’s not to say that I wouldn’t buy these Udi’s bagels again as I certainly would, but they wouldn’t be at the top of my bagels shopping list.

DSC02503Savoury Bagels

One of my favourite products from the Udi’s range is without doubt their Savoury Bagels! I wasn’t sure I’d like this flavour, but I currently have a freezer full of them!

The product description on Udi’s website is:

Gluten free breakfast ideas don’t come any more inspired or delicious than Udi’s savoury bagels straight from the bag. Soft and chewy with a hint of toasted onion, it’s another love at first bite sensation from Udi’s. And why stop at gluten free breakfast ideas? These bagels are brilliant any time.

Again, this wouldn’t be a product I’d have for breakfast, but these are definitely one of my favourite lunch options!

The thing that makes these one of the best tasting products has to be the hint of onion running through them. This adds real flavour to any filling you add to the bagels.DSC02504My favourite filling has to be Philadelphia spread with some ham on the top. Yummy!

DSC02741Chocolate Chip & Toffee Flavoured Muffins

Now I know I’m not the only person to have been confused by these muffins….

I expected the muffins to be both chocolate chip and toffee flavoured, but they are actually separate flavours – one is chocolate chip and the other is toffee!

The product description on Udi’s website is:

With our sweet treat gluten free muffins, you can indulge yourself while eating gluten free. An irresistible combination of chocolate chip & toffee means these scrumptious gluten free muffins will truly tantalise your taste buds. Thanks to Udi’s, eating gluten free need never be smile-free.

These muffins are really good! They both contain lots of their respective fillings, with chocolate chips or toffee running through them in very large quantities.DSC02742I personally think that these would make a good product for coffee shops as an alternative to our standard chocolate brownies. They’re so moist and full of flavour they’d be great with a cup of tea / coffee / hot chocolate. Take note Starbucks, Costa Coffee, Café Nero et all! 😉

DSC03120Ancient Grain Crisps

Udi’s Ancient Grain Crisps come in two different flavours, Jalapeno Cheddar and Aged Cheddar.

Described as ‘combining the keen flavour of cheddar with the subtle warmth of jalapeno heat for a mouth-watering combination of taste and intensity’, unfortunately the Jalapeno crisps proved to be that little bit too strong for me but I know that Rich really enjoyed them.

As for the Aged Cheddar version, well I don’t really know how best to describe them other than AMAZING!!! So much so I’ve had quite a few packets of these now and I still don’t have a picture of them as I’m too eager to devour them! 🙂

I’m happy to eat them just as crisps, but I’ve also found that they are great with dips!

They are described as being ‘flavour-packed with Amaranth, Quinoa, Flax, Sesame, Millet and Black Seed. They are so crunchy and tasty; it will be hard to resist eating the lot’.

That is not a joke, they are massively moreish! Maybe it would be better if they came in smaller packets, although I’d probably still eat them all….

They are also the crunchiest crisps I’ve ever had and if by some miracle they’ve managed to stay open for a few days, they still retain that crispiness. Yep, they’re just great!

I’ve still got more Udi’s products in my gluten free cupboard that I haven’t even got around to trying yet such as their Breakfast Bars and Bagel Chips, but if they’re anything like the rest of the range I’m sure they’ll be amazing!

If you would like more information about Udi’s and their other products, you can check out their website (http://udisglutenfree.co.uk), follow them on Twitter (@Udis_UK) and like them on Facebook (www.facebook.com/UdisGlutenFreeUK).

I’d be interested to hear from you if you’ve tried any of these Udi’s products or indeed any of their other products! What did you think? Would you buy them again? What’s your favourite? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

