DS-gluten free Wholesome Seeded Loaf

DS logo_Master1Following on from my review of their Bourbon Biscuits and Custard Creams (which can be found here), I was recently asked by the lovely people at DS-gluten free if I’d like to review another of their products. Considering I absolutely loved their biscuits, I jumped at the chance! This time they asked me to review their Wholesome Seeded Loaf.

Since my diagnosis a year ago, I’ve tried numerous different bread brands and have found most of them to be rather lacking in both taste and texture, so I’ve tended to stick to the ones that I really like. I was intrigued to see how this one would compare….

Here’s a little bit more information about the product:Wholesome Seeded Sliced Loaf

The loaves have a unique sourdough recipe which combines innovative ingredients such as millet and quinoa to create a tasty nutritious loaf! It’s also high in fibre.

Formerly named Fresher for Longer, the loaf has a 40 day shelf life but contains no artificial preservatives unlike some other gluten free breads. It can be eaten straight from the pack without ‘refreshing’.

Most gluten free breads taste better once they’ve been toasted, but I decided to try this bread both fresh and toasted.

Since returning from a fitness weekend a few weeks ago, I’ve been very keen on having hard boiled eggs from breakfast, so this was a good opportunity to test the bread.

DSC03029 DSC03032

I doubt you’d be able to tell the difference between the two photos above, but the one on the left is using bread straight from the packet and the one of the right is the bread once it’s been toasted.

DSC03026The bread looked great with no holes, unlike some other brands, and the texture of the millet and quinoa really added to this bread!

It certainly lived up to the ‘wholesome’ name and it felt like it kept me fuller for longer as a result which was great 🙂

I would very happily eat this bread straight from the packet which means that it would also be great for sandwiches. This loaf is definitely now up there as one of my favourite breads now, and the shelf life is certainly a great bonus!

The Wholesome Seeded Loaf can be found in Morrisons, The Co-operative, Waitrose and Tesco stores and gluten free shoppers can find their closest stockist using the stockist finder on the DS website www.dsglutenfree.com/en/pos%20finder?adr=Enter%20a%20location

To find out more about DS-gluten free and the rest of their range you can visit their website (www.dsglutenfree.com/en) and follow them on Twitter (@DSglutenfree).

I’d love to hear from you if you’ve tried the DS-gluten free Wholesome Seeded Loaf! What did you think? Please leave your comments below 🙂

2 thoughts on “DS-gluten free Wholesome Seeded Loaf

Leave a Reply

