Meluha, Bristol – Part 2

hi-res-first-day-230Recently voted Best Restaurant in the Not A Trace Awards 2013, this is a belated review of my second visit to Meluha a few months ago!

If you been following my blog for a while you may have read my original review of Meluha back in May, but if not, you can find it here.

Myself and the lovely @CarrieSquair decided to meet up whilst she was in Bristol for work, and I couldn’t think of a better, or more welcoming, restaurant to take her to!

The last time I ate at Meluha I had the Lamb Navarin Bhuna, but this time I opted for the Lamb Shank Roganjosh – yes I love lamb! I ordered this along with some steamed basmati rice and some gluten free plain naan bread, which I didn’t have previously (I had a kheema stuffed naan the last time I went) so I was keen to see how this tasted!

As mentioned in my previous review, the menu includes a brief description of each meal and the Lamb Shank Roganjosh was described as: King of curries, a classic Kashmiri dish cooked with whole lamb shanks in a rich onion and fresh tomato purée.

When our food arrived, we couldn’t wait to get started…..

DSC02617

Carrie’s meal was amazingly displayed, as I’d come to expect from Meluha, and my meal was huge! I’m glad that I once again opted for the sugared yoghurt (as was previously recommended), as I did find my meal quite spicy, but pleasantly so, rather than too overpowering.

The lamb was cooked perfectly and just fell off the bone, and the onion and tomato sauce that it was in was equally spectacular.

DSC02621DSC02620

As for the gluten free naan bread, well that was amazing! It was so thin and crispy it was just wonderful and the perfect accompaniment to my main meal!

I wish I’d had room to have more than one course, as I would love to try out more of Meluha’s amazing dishes. Oh well, there’s always next time…… 😉

DSC02618As I’ve said on numerous occasions, I would recommend Meluha to everyone!

The food is absolutely divine and the staff are always very friendly and helpful, so if you do have any concerns about spice levels, like myself, they will always be on hand to advise as to which dishes would be most suitable for you. I can’t wait for my next visit!

For more information on Meluha, please visit their website (www.meluha.co.uk) and don’t forget to follow them on Twitter (@MeluhaBristol).

Leave a Reply

