The Stable Bristol

the stable logoYou may recall that back in July I was lucky enough to be invited along to the launch night of the new The Stable Bristol which had just opened on Bristol’s waterfront. During that evening I was able to sample a couple of different gluten free pizzas and they tasted great.

If you haven’t seen my review of the launch night you can find it here.

Well, I am pleased to say that just before Christmas I met up with some friends at The Stable, and enjoyed a spectacular gluten free pizza! Here’s my full review…

When trying to make arrangements to meet my friends for a pre-Christmas catch up, one of the first places I thought of visiting was The Stable Bristol, as not only would this be a great opportunity to finally try one of their gluten free pizzas, but my friends enjoy pizza too and they hadn’t been before. The only thing I needed to check in advance was that they had some high chairs available for my friend’s daughter and fortunately they did, so that’s where we decided to meet.

Fortunately we arranged to meet at 12 noon, as very shortly after this the restaurant filled up very quickly! News has obviously got around as to how good the food (and cider) is!

Gluten free bases are available on all of their pizzas (subject to the toppings being DSC02800
gluten free), so after much deliberation I opted for The Lamb Roast. This pizza consists of marinated local lamb, mint, Ford Farm goats’ milk cheddar, thyme roasted sweet potato, roast onions, tomato and mozzarella. Now this may sound a little bit random, but I can assure you it really does work, especially when it’s paired with a delicious fruity cider! 🙂

As you can see from the photo above, the pizza came on its own chopping board with its own pizza cutter, which is great to see, as we all know the risks relating to cross contamination!

DSC02802The pizza contained chunks of beautifully cooked lamb as well as sweet potato – two of my favourite foods on in one place, on a pizza!

The only ingredient which concerned me when I first ordered the pizza was the mint, as I wasn’t sure how it would work on a pizza and if it would overpower the other flavours.

I have to admit that when I had my first bite, it certainly tasted very peculiar, but I soon got over this and realised that this was actually a really good flavour combination! It’s certainly better than having the standard pizza toppings all of the time!

The base was stunning and probably one of the best, if not the best, gluten free pizza base that I’ve tasted, and I feel very fortunate to have such amazing gluten free pizzas just a short drive away! I’ll definitely be heading back soon to sample some of the other amazing flavour combinations :).

If you would like more information about The Stable Bristol you can visit their website (www.stablepizza.com). You can also follow them on Twitter (@_TheStable).

Leave a Reply

