9bar – the mixed seed energy bars

logoI recently came across the wonderful 9bar brand when I was trying to find some snack bars suitable to keep in my desk drawer at work. I discovered these in my local supermarket and they seemed perfect for the role!

If you don’t know much about 9bar, here’s a little bit more about what’s in their bars:

Each new day brings a race against time. Which means that, with the pace of life growing ever faster, we all need an energy boost to get us through our daily marathon, whether we’re taking part in competitive sport, keeping fit or merely running a busy life! 9bar is a delicious way to provide an extra energy boost. It also provides a fantastic, tasty, guilt-free alternative when all you actually want to do is indulge. So why fill up on empty calories when you can get a nutritional boost that provides more sustained satisfaction? Every 9bar is made with a unique blend of wholesome seeds including sunflower, pumpkin, poppy, sesame and hemp, while some of our bars also add delicious crunchy nuts such as cashews, hazelnuts and peanuts.

Making a name for good health!

Seeds and nuts are nutritionally dense foods containing a wide range of nutrients including minerals, vitamins and essential fatty acids like Omega-3. Magnesium, a key nutrient in pumpkin seeds, is a natural energy and metabolism booster, contributing to a reduction of tiredness and fatigue. Sunflower seeds are a good source of thiamine, which helps protect and maintain energy. While hemp seed, the undisputed star of the 9bar show, not only contains Riboflavin (vitamin B2) which helps protect against the effects of oxidative stress, but is actually a complete protein containing all essential amino acids in a balanced ratio – including the 9 that are essential building blocks for good health, which is, of course, what gives 9bar its name.

Approved by both the Vegetarian and Coeliac Societies no less, 9bar is also made by our own fair hand at our craft bakery here in Wales using only natural ingredients so it’s full of good stuff. While what it isn’t full of is the stuff you’ll be more than happy to do without. For example, 9bar is free from wheat, gluten, yeast and egg. It’s ideal for those with specific allergies or dietary requirements and contains no trans fats, artificial additives, preservatives or colours.

DSC02288When I first bought them the only flavour available was the original ones and I chose to buy a pack of 4 x 40g bars, rather than the individual 50g bars.

The original flavour bars are made from the mixed seeds detailed above, which is then topped with a carob topping. Additional ingredients include: honey, raw cane sugar and vegetable oil.

I must admit that I’ve never particularly been a fan of snacking on seeds, so I was dubious as to whether I’d enjoy these bars. Fortunately, I was very pleasantly surprised!

DSC02754These snack bars and very delicious and extremely moreish (to the extent that the following day I went and bought lots more boxes!).

The texture of the bars is lovely, as the solid carob topping mixes wonderfully with the crunchy yet chewy texture of the seeds.

The description on the bars is ‘9bar is a great all round, satisfying and wholesome snack, so why fill up with empty calories when you can have a naturally delicious, nutritious energy boost in such a conveniently indulgent way’. I think that this is a very accurate description as I find that these bars really do fill me up and they certainly taste indulgent too!

DSC02289

I find these bars so good that they are now my handbag essential since changing jobs. In my new role I can quite often be away for most of the day without the option to sit down and have a proper lunch, so to know that I have these in my handbag is great as a quick energy boost.

9bar have recently sent me a box of some of the other varieties they have available, including: peanut, organic, fruity, nutty and flax.

They’re so good, my cat wants to keep them for himself…..

DSC02579 DSC02580 DSC02577

Although I’m still working my way through them, the flavours that I’ve had so far have been equally as good as the original flavour, particularly the fruity and nutty ones :).

If you’d like to find out more about 9bar and their delicious bars, including where to buy them, you can visit their website (www.9bar.com) and you can also follow them on Twitter (@9Bar_Official).

2 thoughts on “9bar – the mixed seed energy bars

  1. Hi Tracy

    Thanks for the lovely review, great to hear that we have gained other loyal fan for our quirky handmade little seed bars and I hope you will continue to enjoy 9bar for many years to come.

    Best wishes

    Mark
    MD – Wholebake Ltd – proud makers of 9bar

Leave a Reply

