Darling Popcorn

logoA few weeks ago the lovely guys at Darling Spuds asked if anyone wanted to sample their new popcorn range. Not one to turn down such offers I jumped at the chance!

If you’re a regular to my blog you’ll know that I’ve previously reviewed Darling Spuds hand cooked potato chips (my review can be found here), but if you don’t know much about Darling Spuds, here’s some information about them taken from their website:

Darling Spuds come to you from the creators of Salty Dog, Judy and Dave Willis. Salty Dog was conceived as a quirky range of feisty flavoured crisps named in honour of their enthusiastic junior partner, a little terrier puppy called Ruby.

Darling Spuds is the result of Judy’s determination to create a more wholesome, all natural snack to satisfy the growing demand for healthier food.

Aside from their slightly obsessive interest in snacks, Judy and Dave enjoy a simple, country life. They are renovating a narrow boat called Merlin on the Grand Union canal in leafy Buckinghamshire and enjoy flying kites or walking Ruby in the Chiltern Hills.

DSC02607A few days after our Twitter conversation I was delighted to receive a fun size 5 pack of Darling Popcorn in the post.

As you can see from the photo, the packaging is bright pink so you certainly won’t miss this product in your cupboard! The design is very similar to those of the crisps, making it easily recognisable as part of the Darling Spuds range.

The popcorn comes in a ‘sweet and salty’ flavour and I must admit that I wasn’t sure how I felt about this as I would always choose a sweet popcorn over a salty one and I wondered how the two would combine.

Unfortunately the salt element was too much for me (having cut salt out of my diet as much as possible following my heart operation, it now has a very strong taste when I do have it).

However, I’m very pleased to say that Rich really liked the popcorn and will definitely enjoy eating the remaining packets!DSC02609

Speaking of the packets, the individual packs are a brilliant size for a quick snack, perfect for lunch-boxes and even better, they are less than 40 calories a bag! 🙂 This definitely makes this product an ideal snack, as long as you like the idea of the sweet and salty flavours being combined.

For more information about Darling Spuds please check out their website (www.darlingspuds.co.uk) and don’t forget to follow them on Twitter (@DarlingSpuds).

Leave a Reply

