Strand Hotell, Vänersborg, Sweden

This post is a continuation of my main post about my trip to Sweden, which can be found here.

DSC01944For the first part of our holiday in Vänersborg, we were given recommendations of places to stay based on their location and it turns out that most of the wedding guests chose to stay in the same hotel which was great, as we were regularly seeing friends at breakfast or in the reception area!

The hotel we stayed in was called the Strand Hotell and it was situated right on the riverside, a few minutes walk from the town centre and conveniently only a few minutes walk from the wedding reception venue :).

I’d pre warned the hotel that we would be arriving late as we were not due to arrive in Gothenburg until 7.30pm and then we would be driving to Vänersborg which was a couple of hours away. I was advised that this was fine and that the room key would be left on the reception desk if there was no one there.

However, we arrived at about 9.30pm and the main door was locked…! Fortunately some other guests let us through the door as they were returning to the hotel, and we found our keys on the reception desk!

The rooms were a nice size and ours was on the third floor with a view over the river.DSC01929DSC01921

The first morning when we went down to breakfast there didn’t seem to be any gluten free options, despite me checking that there would be before booking.

I was anxious about asking the member of staff as I was conscious that I knew a lot of people in the breakfast area at the time and didn’t want it to appear that I was being fussy, even though I knew I wasn’t.

My boyfriend asked on my behalf and I had to wait quite some time before they came back with some slices of gluten free bread. This, along with soft and hard-boiled eggs, meant that I could have a good breakfast after all. The bread was quite stodgy, as are a lot of gluten free breads, but I was pleased to be catered for.

DSC02269During the day the hotel offers tea and coffee making facilities in the breakfast area, as there are no facilities in the rooms. This was quite nice as it meant that we could all sit together rather than staying in our rooms.

O’boy hot chocolate sachets were also provided which was great for me, as I do like hot chocolate quite a lot.

I also noticed that the reception area had a bakery area as well as an ice cream freezer and the bakery area included some gluten free options, although I didn’t get around to trying any of these.DSC01899

The following morning we didn’t have breakfast due to the wedding the evening before, so our next breakfast in the hotel was on the day we were travelling to Gothenburg.

DSC01910

This time the gluten free bread was already out on the table and labelled as such. This time I opted for a bacon sandwich to start my day!

DSC01912

Overall, I would say that this hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. It was very convenient for all local amenities and provided great views. The gluten free food provided was adequate and if were to visit our friends in Vänersborg again in the future, I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

For more information about the Strand Hotell, please visit their website (www.strandhotell.com).

Leave a Reply

