Gluten Free McDonald’s

This post is a continuation of my main post about my trip to Sweden, which can be found here.

Yes, you did read that right, gluten free McDonald’s really does exist, just not in the UK!

Before I went to Sweden I’d been told that they had gluten free McDonald’s so I felt I had to try it once, just to say I had. It turned out that I actually had it twice…..

I never really ate at McDonald’s before my diagnosis as I’ve never been a fan of any of the fast food burger chains, but the idea of a gluten free burger sounded intriguing.

The first time we had it was when we arrived in Gothenburg as we wanted something quick and easy, so McDonald’s was everyone’s choice. I wasn’t sure what to order as the only thing I ever did eat was the chicken burger, but as this is breaded it wasn’t an option. Their burgers were ok though, so I opted for a gluten free cheeseburger.

It’s good to know that these are freshly made as you have to wait a bit longer for it to be prepared. I can see how easy it would be to have this a lot though, as a cheeseburger meal with fries and a drink only cost 39.00 SEK (approx. £3.90).

DSC01966

The cheeseburger tasted ok, but the second time I had it I made sure I didn’t have the gherkin (I’d forgotten about those!). The bread tasted quite stodgy, but I didn’t have any ill effects from eating the burger, and that was the main thing!

DSC01970

The second time we ate at McDonald’s was on our last day as we wanted something quick and easy before heading to catch our bus to the airport.

Although I’m still not a massive fan of McDonald’s I can see how these would be a convenient lunch option, particularly as lunch tends to be the hardest meal to find gluten free options for. I think the introduction of this in the UK wouldn’t be a bad thing to fill this void, it just wouldn’t be my choice of food.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free McDonald’s

  1. You should try Burger kings glutenfree instead 🙂 Much better!
    I have read all the posts about your gothenburg trip, its really fun to read! But im acutally a little surprised about what you said about the lunch options. I have no problem to find glutenfree lunch but maybe its easier for me living her and speaking swedish.

    • Hi Hanna,

      Thanks for your comment and your feedback on my posts, that’s great to hear :).

      With regard to the lunch options, we were only in Gothenburg for 4 days and it was quite difficult to find gf options even on the internet beforehand, but like you say not speaking or reading the language is also a big factor. I’m not sure if there are particular parts of the city that are better for gf too, as we mainly stayed around the centre?

      I didn’t even know that Burger King did gluten free options, otherwise I’d have definitely checked that out!

      Tracy

Leave a Reply

