Newburn Bakehouse by Warburtons – Part 2

newburn logoI first reviewed the Newburn Bakehouse range back in April and really enjoyed the products they had to offer, so I jumped at the chance to review the additions to their seeded range.

Please click here if you’d like to read my original review.

As you’ll be aware, part of my first review included a look at their Sliced Seeded Loaf, but they’ve since introduced two additional products to the seeded range: seeded wraps and seeded baguettes, both of which I’ve previously tried in their non seeded form.

I was pleased to receive a box of these products and I couldn’t wait to get started, but this time I wanted to try a few different uses for the products.

Seeded WrapsIMAG0148

The Seeded Wraps are based on Newburn Bakehouse’s ‘popular Square White Wraps, with a wonderful twist, baked with linseed, sunflower and millet seed for a rich flavour and slightly crunchy texture’.

The main thing that I wanted to try with the wraps this time around, was to use them as a pizza base. As the wraps are a little thicker than normal wraps they looked like they would lend themselves well to this type of use, and it is also a serving suggestion on the wrapper :).

I decided to make a sausage and vegetable pizza and my ingredients were: 1 small tin of tomato puree mixed with 1 tin of tomatoes which was then put in the blender until almost smooth, 1 yellow pepper, 1 red onion, 4 gluten free sausages (cooked and sliced), half a bag of spinach and grated cheese to finish (I used Cheddar and Red Leicester).

IMAG0112 IMAG0113

As you can see the pizza looked great, but it also tasted amazing! The wraps turned out to be a great base and the thickness was just right to create a sturdy base that could support the toppings without becoming moist. I think this is probably my preferred use of the wraps now as it’s such a convenient way to make a pizza, and it only took 10 minutes to cook in the oven :).IMAG0115

I used the remaining wraps as wraps, as I had done previously, as well as trying my hand at a panini style wrap! The wraps tasted just as good as the normal versions, but the seeds add a wonderful texture to this version of the wrap.

My panini style effort wasn’t great in a wrap and is definitely better suited to the baguettes, but it was still nice to have a bit of variation, and shows this product’s great versatility.

IMAG0146Seeded Baguettes

Despite my best efforts of trying different things with these baguettes, my preferred use is definitely as a panini as they work so well, so I’ve had quite a few ham and cheese paninis in my house of late :).

DSC01175I did however finish the baguettes off last weekend, by using them at a family BBQ. They tasted great when they were filled with sausages and some of my boyfriend’s homemade salsa. I have often wondered what would be the best type of gluten free bread to use at a BBQ and I definitely think that the Newburn Bakehouse range offers many options.

Fruity TeacakesIMAG0153

When I recently went to my ‘local’ Tesco I noticed part of the Newburn Bakehouse range that I hadn’t yet tried, their Fruity Teacakes.

I’ve always been a fan of teacakes, so this combined with my thoughts on the remainder of the range, meant that I knew that these would be great!

IMAG1598They’re probably not the healthiest breakfast option on the market, but as a treat they really do taste great! They are ‘bursting with plump, juicy currants and sultanas, and mixed with just a smidgen of spice. They are also a delicious source of fibre’.

So there we have it, Newburn Bakehouse by Warburtons have done it again, they’ve added to an already great range with some more amazing products!

I’d be interested to know if you have any great serving suggestions for any of the Newburn Bakehouse range? If you do, please let me know by leaving a comment below :).

For more information on Newburn Bakehouse, you can visit their website (www.newburnbakehouse.com) and you can also follow them on Twitter (@WarbsNewburnBH).

Leave a Reply

