Dell’ Ugo Fresh Pasta

imagesOne product which I didn’t think I’d be able to have again following my diagnosis was fresh pasta. I’ve tried numerous varieties of dried pasta, but hadn’t come across any brands selling fresh pasta, until I stumbled across Dell’ Ugo at the Allergy & Free From Show!

They had three gluten free options available at the show: chickpea fusilli, penne and tagliatelle.

I was concerned as to what condition fresh pasta would be in by the time I got back to Bristol from London, but the guys on the stall assured me it’d be ok, so I opted for a packet of the penne, as this is probably my most regularly used pasta, along with a packet of the tagliatelle, as I thought this would be great with a Bolognese :).

IMAG0011DSC01350

Both products are made from three simple ingredients – maize flour, rice flour and water and not only are they gluten free, but they are also egg free and dairy free as well. This means that they are perfect for vegetarians, vegans and anyone who is lactose intolerant too!

The first pasta I tried was the Gluten Free Fresh Penne as this proved quite useful as a quick meal before I played netball. The Dell’ Ugo fresh pastas only have a 5 minute cooking time which is really useful if you need something quick, although I do prefer my pasta on the softer side, so I tend to allow an extra few minutes of cooking time beyond what’s recommended, but this is down to personal taste.

I mixed my penne pasta with some tuna and cheese for a great pre sport meal, which also happened to be very tasty!

IMAG0013 IMAG0014

The fresh pasta tastes much nicer than most of the dried pasta options currently available, but obviously fresh pasta carries a shorter use by date than dried pasta, so you have to remember to use it!

Which brings me nicely on to the Gluten Free Fresh Tagliatelle, as I almost forgot about it! Fortunately I remembered just in time, so last week my boyfriend purposely made a Bolognese so that we could use it. Again, it tasted great and it was so nice to be able to have tagliatelle, as this was something that I hadn’t had since before my diagnosis.

DSC01355 DSC01353

As I’m sure you can appreciate it is difficult to review pasta, but the main purpose of this review is to make people aware that fresh pasta options are available and Dell’ Ugo make some great varieties! 🙂

For more information about Dell’ Ugo and information about where their products are sold, you can visit their website (www.ugogroup.co.uk) and you can also follow them on Twitter (@Dell_Ugo).

Leave a Reply

