Cafe Cake, Bristol

IMAG0138Another new brand that I came across at Bristol’s Big Market was Cafe Cake.

They were selling an orange and almond gluten free cake at the market and I thought it’d be rude to not give it a go…. ūüôā

Cafe Cake are a local company who use the very best ingredients in their products. ‘Where possible without compromising on quality we source them locally and use local wholesalers. Our butter is produced in Somerset, by some of the finest Westcountry cows’.

I purchased a slice of the orange and almond cake for £1.80 which I think is a reasonable price for a fresh, gluten free cake and it was a good size and thickness which was great.IMAG0052-2

I’m a big fan of using almonds as a flour substitute having made some cakes using this method myself, so I had high hopes for this cake. Fortunately, it didn’t disappoint!

The sponge was really soft, light and moist which was complimented perfectly by the crisp topping and flaked almonds. I definitely prefer a nice crisp edge to a cake, so this was a big thumbs up from me :).

The taste of the orange really came through and it tasted like a ‘normal’ cake, so you would¬†never have known that it was gluten free.

Cafe Cake offer a variety of cakes on their website, including a selection of gluten free options and I would definitely recommend that you try them if you have the opportunity. I certainly intend to try some of their other gluten free goodies!

Cafe Cake can currently be found at the Harbourside Market every Saturday, more details of which can be found here and on Twitter (@HarbourMarket).

For further information about Cafe Cake including product information and testimonials, you can visit their website (www.cafe-cake.co.uk).

Leave a Reply

