Heinz Deliciously Gluten Free Tomato & Basil Pasta Sauce

Heinz_Gluten_Free_392x554I recently came across the new Heinz gluten free range in my local Tesco store, so thought I’d try one of their sauces. The products are instantly recognisable as Heinz due to its trademark logo, but their gluten free products are in a green packaging. I decided to try the tomato and basil flavour sauce, but they also have tomato frito and tomato and oregano flavours.

The Heinz Deliciously Gluten Free range is described on the carton as ‘a range so tasty and satisfying you could almost forget it is gluten free. Quick to cook and full of flavour, Heinz gluten free pasta sauces can be enjoyed by everyone’.IMAG0012-2

Having recently started to play netball, I like to stock up on carbs before I go so I’ve been regularly having tuna pasta, but last night I remembered that I had the Heinz sauce in the cupboard so thought I’d give it a go, with some Dell’ Ugo pasta (to be reviewed in a separate post shortly).

The carton sizes are perfect for one portion and the current Tesco price is £1 per carton (210g).

When you first open the carton the smell of the basil is very strong. The smell was so strong that I didn’t think that I was going to like it, but once heated through on the hob its strength softened and the sauce thickened.

Once the sauce was heated and the pasta was cooked, I drained the pasta and mixed the two together, before serving in a bowl and garnishing with some cheese. I must admit that this was a nice change to tuna pasta and considering there were very few ingredients in the dish, it had a really good taste.IMAG0018-2

I saved some of the pre mixed pasta and sauce from last night and reheated it for lunch today, and I think it tasted even nicer! As a result, I will definitely be getting this product again, as I am now viewing it as a store cupboard essential. I’d also love to try it as the sauce for a pizza!

I’m looking forward to trying the other sauces in the range, as well as the gluten free pastas, and I hope that Heinz add some more gluten free products to the range.

For more information about Heinz and their gluten free range you can visit their website (www.heinz.co.uk).

Leave a Reply

