BFree Multigrain Wraps

IMAG1509-2Since starting my blog and becoming part of the gluten free community, it’s been great to come across new brands. One brand that I’ve recently come across is BFree Foods. They are based in Ireland and produce a range of wheat and gluten free bakery products, such as bread, rolls and wraps.

Here’s a bit of background on BFree taken from their website:

BFree was developed to bring tasty, ‘good for you’ breads to the market. Often, people avoid bread or feel poorly after having a sandwich and this may be due to sensitivities to wheat or gluten. There is no guilt associated with eating BFree as the nutritional composition of our products is extraordinary!

When wheat is removed from bread products, it is as if the ‘scaffolding’ that holds the structure together is pulled apart. BFree has developed a recipe and composition that replaces the gluten and wheat and with natural ingredients…

When BFree offered me the opportunity to try out their new gluten free wraps I jumped at the chance and thought it would be interesting to see how they compare to the wraps I normally buy from Newburn Bakehouse.IMAG1474-2

The first thing to jump out at you with these products is their bright, green, well sealed packaging with resealable strip to ensure your wraps stay fresh for as long as possible. The other great thing is that each wrap is only 99 calories, not bad for a healthy lunch option!

There are 6 wraps per packet, but unfortunately we only had 5 in our pack for some reason (for a moment I thought my other half may have had a sneaky wrap without me noticing!). With an RRP of £2.99 per packet this presents excellent value for money.

IMAG1479-2The most obvious difference between the BFree and Newburn Bakehouse wraps is the thickness of the wraps. The BFree wraps are a lot thinner and I would suggest that they are more of a Mexican style wrap.

Although this means that they are easy to fold, it also means that they fall apart easier, as you can see from the strategic hand placement in the photo to the left!

In my wisdom I included beetroot in one of my wraps and unfortunately the juice leaked out of the bottom corner of the wrap, which I feel may not have happened if the wrap had been a little bit thicker.

The BFree wraps do, however, feel a lot lighter and less filling due to being thinner and taste more like a ‘normal’ wrap, which is very positive.IMAG1475-2

We used all of our wraps as precisely that, wraps, but next time I have some I would be tempted to try using them more as tortillas to see how well they work.

Unfortunately it appeared that I did overfill my wraps, hence the need for a knife and fork in this picture (!), but I definitely intend to have a supply of these available for lunch as not only are they nutritious, but they’re really easy to make!

Currently BFree wraps are only available in Ireland, but they are due to launch in the UK very soon and will be stocked in ASDA, which I think is great as Tesco seem to have the monopoly on a lot of gluten free products, and ASDA is nearer for me!

For more information about BFree have a look at their website (www.bfreefoods.com) and don’t forget to follow them on Twitter (@BFreeFoods).

2 thoughts on “BFree Multigrain Wraps

  1. Hi Terry,

    Thanks for your comment.

    When I make my wraps I tend to use up ingredients that I have in the fridge so I don’t have particular recipes. I had a wrap for lunch today and it consisted of beetroot, ham, peppers, spinach and salad cream and it tasted great 🙂

    The Bfree website does have some recipe suggestions, but I like to experiment with mine!

    Hope this helps?

    Tracy

Leave a Reply

