Genius Gluten Free Pains au Chocolat

logoOne of the first brands I came across in the gluten free world, was Genius Gluten Free. I have fallen head over heels for their seeded sliced bread and this is definitely my bread of choice, subject to supermarket stock levels!

As a result of this I thought I’d try some of their other products and recently came across their Pains au Chocolat packs in Tesco.

IMAG1409-2Each pain au chocolat takes just 10 minutes in the oven (from ambient) and by the end of that time, you have the most amazing pain au chocolat oozing with melting chocolate :). They are described as ‘buttery, flaky and very chocolaty’ and this couldn’t be a truer description. As soon as you bite in to them the texture is indeed flaky, but it will quite literally ooze chocolate, which I then like to mop up with the pastry!

IMAG1397-2I chose to freeze one of the pain au chocolat to see if they froze ok and didn’t lose any of their texture or flavour and I can safely say that they still tasted great.

Although it’s fair to say that these products aren’t the healthiest breakfast option on the market, they are great as a treat and I would highly recommend them.

Unfortunately it would appear that these products are not currently available as Genius prepares to launch some new products, but I felt they still deserved a review in case they become available again! I’m very excited by the thought of some new products and will definitely be wanting to try them once they’re available, as I haven’t been disappointed with any Genius products that I’ve tried so far!

Finally, if you weren’t already aware, Genius supplies the gluten free rolls to enable Starbucks and Caffè Nero to provide gluten free alternatives in their branches, which is brilliant news as lunch time can often be a problem for those on a gluten free diet.

For more information about Genius Gluten Free you can visit their website (www.geniusglutenfree.com) and you can also follow them on Twitter (@GeniusFoods).

Leave a Reply

