Newburn Bakehouse by Warburtons – Part 1

newburn logoIt’s not often that I come across the Newburn Bakehouse gluten and wheat free range from Warburtons, as most of my local supermarkets don’t stock it, but I purposely travelled that bit further last week, just so I could try some of the range!

I decided to get a few different items and freeze anything that I didn’t use, which was lucky as the best before date on all of the items bar one was only 3 days later. I’m not sure if this was a supermarket stocking issue or just the length that the items last, but this was the only negative I have about the products I purchased 🙂

White Wraps

IMAG1246-2I must admit that the white wraps were one of the main reasons for my supermarket visit as I had read lots of comments about them, so really wanted to try them for myself.

Within each handy resealable pack are 3 very versatile wraps. Serving suggestions include using them as pizza bases, to make toasties or simply using them as wraps. I’ve only used one of these so far, but opted to use my first one as a wrap.IMAG1247

To make mine I spread caramelised onion houmous over the wrap, added some grated carrot and little bit of raw red onion, before finishing it off by adding some slices of pepper and mixed leaves. I was a little concerned that there wouldn’t be enough filling IMAG1248and that the taste of the ingredients would be lost in the wrap, but it tasted amazing and I certainly didn’t need to snack afterwards!

I look forward to thinking of different ways of using the remaining wraps 🙂

Spiced Fruit Loaf

IMAG1229This loaf is slightly spiced and contains currants and sultanas, but I must admit to having tried this one before and it has now become a definite favourite of mine. My main use for this loaf is to toast it for breakfast and it tastes utterly divine, as well as smelling gorgeous and making sure your house smells lovely too!

Sliced Seeded Loaf

IMAG1230I normally buy a different brand of seeded loaf, but thought I’d give this one a go, considering I was already buying lots of other products in the range! This loaf includes a mix of poppy, linseed, sunflower and millet seeds.

I used some of the loaf for sandwiches for both myself and my boyfriend, and we both commented that we would probably prefer the normal brand I buy, rather than this one, only as the texture was a little too chewy which made it quite hard to swallow. That said, it would probably be really nice as an accompaniment to soup, so that’s probably how I’ll use the rest of it.

White Baguettes

IMAG1236Wow, these crusty baguettes are definitely going to be a firm favourite in this household! I must admit to having really missed baguettes, paninis etc since my diagnosis, so it was great to finally try these out and they certainly didn’t disappoint. I’ve only used one of them so far and made a form of ham and cheese panini, which was great.

IMAG1238 IMAG1239All you need to do is put the baguette in the oven for a couple of minutes to warm up. I then buttered it, added some ham and cheese and then put it under the grill for a few minutes for the cheese to melt. Very easy and very satisfying!

Morning Muffins

IMAG1234These could quite easily be the nicest thing I have eaten in a long time and yet I almost didn’t buy them! I was torn between buying these and the lemon and poppy seed muffins from the same range, but these ones won it for me purely because of the words ‘golden syrup’ – what could be bad about that?!IMAG1235

Each fruity muffin comes in its own cardboard tray so I was a little bit worried about how I was going to prise them out, but they came out very easily and in one whole piece. The muffins are very moist and taste scrumptious! They are a little on the calorific side though (367 calories per muffin), so I think they’ll be reserved for special occasions, but they are definitely worth it 🙂

Overall I would say that the Newburn Bakehouse range is spectacular and well worth trying, but be aware that they are not stocked in all supermarkets so you may need to shop around.

For more information on Newburn Bakehouse, visit their website (www.newburnbakehouse.com) and don’t forget to follow them on Twitter (@WarbsNewburnBH)

Leave a Reply

