Zizzi Ristorante, Cabot Circus

Despite devouring some chocolate brownies earlier in the day, we met with friends and our party of 6 ventured to the Zizzi Ristorante in Cabot Circus.

I’ve known that Zizzi offer separate allergen menus for quite some time but this is the first time I’ve been able to make it there since being on my gluten free diet, so I thought it would be a nice place to go with our visiting friends.

The first thing I must say is that their online booking system is very useful and provides confirmation of the booking straight away via email and text message.

Upon arrival, despite 2 of our friends already being seated at the table with the standard menus, I didn’t feel too uncomfortable having to ask for their allergen menu, which was provided very promptly (the allergen menu is also available on their website if you wanted to view this before arriving at the restaurant and also includes comprehensive vegetarian, nut free, dairy free, fish free, egg free, soya free and alcohol free options).

When making our menu choices, I requested the Risotto Zucca e Pancetta and the waiter did ask if this was due to a gluten intolerance. I thought it was good that this had been double checked and I now knew that the waiter was fully aware of my dietary requirements. The food arrived and although a friend’s meal was a bit late, we all enjoyed great food and I had no reaction to it at all.

The dessert menus were offered by a waitress, but I still felt at ease asking for the gluten free options and when handing me the allergen menu she pointed out the gluten free dessert part of it. I opted for the chocolate pudding, although I had concerns as to what was in this for it to be gluten free, but 4 of us from the table of 6 opted for this and all thoroughly enjoyed it, no matter if we could have gluten or not. Now that’s a sign of a good dessert!

Overall the food was very nice and enjoyed by all. Considering most of us had 2 courses, with 2 bottles of wine to the table plus additional drinks, I think it worked out as about £25 – £30 per head.

Following a successful and enjoyable evening I think Zizzi may now become one of my regular gluten free venues 🙂

For more information on Zizzi Ristorante please visit their website (www.zizzi.co.uk) or follow them on Twitter (@WeAreZizzi).
UPDATE: Zizzi now provide a gluten free garlic bread! Find out more here.
Leave a Reply

